I love reading Andy @Dunn’s posts on @Medium - straightforward, witty & ruthless

asksummit:

Click here to view all 70 photos in a high res slideshow.

ask dinner san francisco.

what if everything started with a question?

There’s something magical about turning off your phone, bringing together great people and having a moderator who brings out personal stories over dinner. It’s an intense night of vulnerabilities, laughter and new friendships. I can’t say thanks enough to the 11 people who came together for this ask dinner. (For more info about ask. click here. To learn a little more about what happens during dinner, click here.)

Here’s the people who attended the dinner:

Moderator: Andrew Warner - @andrewwarner - Founder Mixergy

  1. Robert Stephens - Founder of GeekSquad @rstephens
  2. Nir Eyal - 2 Time Founder, Design Speaker @nireyal
  3. Mike Walsh - Investor in Salesforce, Uber. @mwalsh
  4. Ian Hunter - Founder Zaarly @ianhunter
  5. Galen Avery - Apple Leadership Program @Galen
  6. Arjun Dev Arora - CEO of Retargeter @arjundarora
  7. Heather Scott - CEO of Purple Plant Smoothies @scottheather
  8. Grant Imahara - Host of Mythbusters @grantimahara
  9. Sara Lannin - Investor at Accel @slannin
  10. Shane Mac - Product at Zaarly @shanemac
  11. Bre Lambert - Director at Zaarly @brelambert

Thanks to Adam Hofmann for the amazing photography.

Facebook reported Q2 advertising revenue of $992 million in today’s earnings call. Behind all those clicks is Ads Product Director Gokul Rajaram. In this piece from Wired, the 15-year advertising veteran comments on the importance of impacting consumers mid-funnel, the ads products that will help them “add that extra social, viral dimension”, and the future of social gifting company Karma.

Good news - not only does Birchbox continue to be a phenomenal service for beauty-conscious women, but it now makes a great gift for dads, husbands, brothers, boyfriends, colleagues, sons…

birchbox:

Once a week, Birchbox’s resident yoga and men’s product expert, Eric, will gives us girls some insight into his world in You’ve Got Male. Whether he’s giving his expertise on skincare (boys need advice, too!) or highlighting his new favorite grooming trend, this guy has got taste—so we’re…

From Jennifer Pebbles at the fabulous Paper & Ink blog

From Jennifer Pebbles at the fabulous Paper & Ink blog

As a bad multitasker, this video for Google’s ‘Project Glass’ makes me worry that the future is going to be a deathtrap. Then again, it’s convenient that Google will also introduce self-driving cars…

Alex’s Tech Thoughts: We Love It, But…

alexstechthoughts:

If you work in business development, partnerships, or sales you probably hear one of these once a week:

“We love your product, but…” 

“….we’re busy…”

“….we have other priorities…”

“….you need to come back in a few months….”

The real question here is how do you shorten the time between pitching someone your offering and having them agree to work with you?

The real answer touches upon where the company is focusing their energy at the moment.

I recently heard a great analogy about doing deals (from Sara Lannin at Accel Partners, who heard it from someone else that I can’t remember right now): Imagine you were walking into the gym and a trainer comes up to you and tells you that their appointment was cancelled. The trainer tells you that he/she is happy to give you a free session. What would your response be? You would immediately say “yea. awesome. let’s do it.” But what if the same trainer gave you a call at 3am in the morning telling you he/she had a cancellation? You’d tell them thanks but that this isn’t a good time.

It’s the same with deals. If you are getting the run around from companies when you approach them, you need to take a step back and consider if you are going to them at the right time. Analyze how deeply your offering will help them. If you master the art of understanding where the other company is (and what they are focused on) you will become more efficient and better at getting others to work with you.

Yep I have my twitter handle on a necklace. Call me Carrie 2.0
Get yours from BaubleBar

Yep I have my twitter handle on a necklace. Call me Carrie 2.0

Get yours from BaubleBar

Great profile piece in the NYTimes on Dr. Maria Klawe, President of Harvey Mudd College, and her role in growing the number of female CS graduates.

How Harvey Mudd did it:

1) Reduce the intimidation factor. At Mudd, the introductory CS course was divided into two sections — “gold,” for those with no prior experience, and “black” for everyone else. Make everyone feel comfortable to ask questions.

2) Make it relevant. “We realized that we needed to show students computer science is not all about programming,” said Ran Libeskind-Hadas, chairman of the CS department. “It has intellectual depth and connections to other disciplines.”

3) Give women access to female role models. Harvey Mudd sponsors female students who wish to attend the Grace Hopper Conference, for example.